What are the penalties for a DUI?
The penalties for a DUI are very extensive. They include obviously probation which can be up to a year long, there’s also fines, court cost, or cost of prosecution fee, there’s something called, the victim impact panel which different counties have different versions of. There’s also a minimum of 50 hour community service. There is a 6 month driver’s license suspension minimum that is usually more, depending on the facts of your case.
There’s also the possibility of having an interlock device installed on your vehicle, so that you have to blow into the interlock in order to start your car. This is very expensive. It’s over $100.00 a month, to have it installed. Then there’s also a monthly charge on top of tThis is an example of simple text. There’s also DUI school, and that can also be expensive as well.
And the scary thing about this is, the State Attorney’s office can pick those penalties with huge variations on what they can do. So what normally happens is, if you do not have a private attorney that does DUI law, you can sometimes find yourself charged with a much higher fine, court cost and probation cost. All of these things add up. That is why it is a good idea to have an attorney represent you for a DUI charge in the State of Florida.
Are those penalties for each time you get a DUI or just a first time?
Those are the minimum for the first time DUI. When you get charged with a second, a third, or a fourth DUI , it goes up from there. It can start at the misdemeanor level, and can then go to the felony level. A third offense DUI under Florida law is a felony, if one of the priors is within ten years and that includes from any state. All the DUI’s do not have to be from Florida.
A big mistake that a lot of people make is they assume that if they got a DUI in another state like Alabama, that that will not be used against you. That is not true. Even though Alabama will drop the DUI against you, every seven years and considered a first offense, Florida can go back and use these prior Alabama DUI’s in order to enhance your current DUI.
Usually, the prosecutor will seek what is called, an NCIC check, the National Crime Information Computer database check of your record, and find out if you have ever been charged with the DUI. And believe it or not, the State of Florida can go back into the 1970’s, and find those DUI’s to use against you, to enhance your current DUI.
You cannot outrun your priors in the state of Florida. It goes back a very long way and they’re very aggressive about enhancing the DUI you are currently facing. Call my office today, and we can walk you through this process with a free consultation.