The Florida DUI laws offer the courts a range of options when dealing with offenders. You could be given some community punishments but it is also likely that you will be sent to jail for a period of time. Repeat offenders will find that the Florida DUI attorneys cannot save them from some of the harshest punishments on the circuit. The Blood Alcohol Content or BAC is one of the most important determinants when it comes to setting the punishment levels. On the first level you have a BAC of between 0.08 and 0.15. In those instances a first offense will send you to jail for a period of time that does not exceed 6 months. You can be sent to jail for 9 months if the BAC is 0.15 or more. The court may impose a fine of between $ 500 and $ 1000. In cases where you are driving with a minor below the age of sixteen, then the fine and term of imprisonment will be increased. It is an aggravating feature in this jurisdiction.
Further punishment under the Florida DUI laws
The court might decide to ban you from driving for a minimum of 180 days. The Florida DUI laws might allow you to request a reinstatement but it is important that you follow the rehabilitative programs that are set by the courts. After six months on the suspension bench you can apply for the installation of an ignition interlock device. This is a cost and inconvenience that you will need to meet as an individual. It is meant to be part of the punishment regime that is imposed in all circumstances. However you might be able to benefit from good Florida DUI attorneys who will argue for a reduction in the punishment imposed. Community service is sometimes seen as a better alternative when compared to imprisonment. However going to jail might be the only to ensure that the offender does not endanger members of the public.
There are some assumptions that are made about the Florida DUI laws. First of all you are deemed to have automatically consented to the test for a BAC. You cannot frustrate the court processes by refusing to take the test. Your Florida DUI attorneys will advise you that the court will make negative inferences about your failure to take the test when required to do so. There are different criteria items for drivers that are carrying minors. It is also important that the court has accurate records for the kinds of things that you have been doing over the last ten years. For example if you have a previous conviction under the same rules then this is taken to be an aggravating feature.
In general it can be said that the Florida DUI laws are fair. You know where you stand right from the start. Of course you might need to brush up on the latest regulations before you go into the jurisdiction. Notwithstanding the work of Florida DUI attorneys you should not be driving whilst drunk.
Find more tips about Florida DUI Laws and Florida DUI Attorneys
More DUI Laws Articles